Assembly polls: Voting begins in UP, Uttarakhand


Assembly polls: Voting begins in UP, Uttarakhand

They were least affected by demonetization and people of the state, too, appreciated the PM's move of note ban.When asked about the BJPs show in first phase polling, Rudy said BJP would sweep the polls with absolute majority. The polling was peaceful.

"The polling was 65.5 per cent till 5 pm and was continuing", Deputy Election Commissioner Vijay Dev told reporters New Delhi.

In this phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh, 82 women candidates were in the fray while the same was 60 in Uttarakhand.

The districts which went for polls were Bijnor, Saharanpur, Moradabad, Sambhal, Rampur, Bareilly, Amroha, Pilibhit, Kheri, Shahjahanpur and Badaun.

The Election Commission had set up 23,696 polling stations and deployed 28040 electronic voting machines and made elaborate security and other arrangements to ensure free and fair polling, official sources said.

A total of 628 candidates from different parties and independent backgrounds are trying their luck at the hustings this time round. Polling in Karnaprayag constituency was postponed following the death of Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate Kuldeep Singh Kanwasi.

Advocates Say Use Caution When "Spreading Awareness" About Immigration Raids
In an email, the agency said reports of ICE checkpoints and sweeps that target undocumented immigrants indiscriminately are false. In one case, the ICE agency charged one immigrant as a "gang member" because of old speeding tickets and tattoos.

Votes were cast today in Uttarkhand, with the state seeing unprecedented polling.

The poll body said the decision has been taken in view of past instances of advertisements of offending and misleading nature in print media on such occasions which vitiate the elections.

In 2012, the Congress won 32 seats, while the BJP was close behind with 31 seats.

The first phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections 2017 were held on Saturday, February 11, and witnesssed a voter turnout of 64 percent.

Manipur will have polling in two phases on March 4 and 8. According to an official, postal ballots will be received till March 11 morning, the day votes will be counted in all five states. It may be recalled that anti-incumbency has forever been a key factor in Uttarakhand assembly polls.



© 2015 Gadgets and Technology News. All Rights reserved.